Mark Rose (Chairman)

Mark is the Chief Executive of Fauna & Flora International, a leading UK based charity which aims to achieve a sustainable future for the planet, where biodiversity is effectively conserved by the people who live closest to it. He has helped broker partnerships with the finance sector and local governments to develop models that can harness the economic value of ecosystem services.

Howard Wood OBE

Howard chairs the Community of Arran Seabed Trust which established the first No Take Zone in Scottish Waters. He is a former scallop diver and has dived in Scottish inshore waters for nearly forty years. He is the 2015 European winner of the Goldman Environmental Prize, the world's largest award for grassroots environmental activists.

Michael Breslin

Michael is an Independent Councillor in Argyll & Bute and was previously the Principal of Argyll College, an academic partner of The University of the Highlands and Islands. He has a strong interest in economic development, employment creation and devolving decision making to the most local level possible.

Rupert Ormond

Rupert is a marine biologist with particular expertise in the behaviour and ecology of sharks and other coral reef fish, and in the monitoring and management of marine protected areas. Currently an Honorary Professor at Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, he has previously served as Director of the University Marine Biological Station at Millport in the Firth of Clyde, and as Chief Scientist of the Save Our Seas Foundation.

Guy Linley Adams

Guy is a solicitor specialising in environmental law, conservation, water, fisheries and freedom of information. Now in private practice, he is a member of the UK Environmental Law Association and the Environmental Law Foundation. He was formerly Director of Conservation at the Marine Conservation Society and a presenter on BBC TV’s Country Tracks programmes.

Jeremy Whitley

Jeremy is an investment manager and a trustee of the Whitley Animal Protection Trust, a UK charity which supports organisations concerned with the prevention of cruelty to animals or the promotion of the welfare of animals.

Britt Groosman

Britt is Associate Vice President, Climate Change at US-based Environmental Defense Fund. She is trained as an economist and was formerly European Director for EDF's Ocean program.


Charles Millar (Executive Director)

Charles has been Executive Director of SIFT since he co-founded it in 2011. He is Chairman of the Association for the Protection of Rural Scotland, an advisor to Fish Tracker and a former member of the Environmental Advisory Council of the British Standards Institution. Charles formerly worked in the environmental technology investment sector.

Alex Watson Crook (Projects Coordinator)

Alex is a marine biologist and fishery management professional. She was the Project Coordinator of SIFT’s Regulating Order project in the Firth of Clyde. She was previously the Senior Fisheries Officer at the Solway Shellfish Management Association and from 2009-2012 was the Local Fisheries Coordinator at the Clyde Inshore Fisheries Group.

Project Advisors

In addition to its Board of Directors and staff, SIFT works with project advisors for each of its larger projects. The groups include representatives of other stakeholder interests as well as leading experts on marine science and fisheries and public law.


SIFT works with a wide range of consultants with expertise in fisheries, scientific, legal, political and other disciplines.

SIFT in pictures


5 Rose Street, Thorn House, EDINBURGH, EH2 2PR. Company No. 399582,

Sustainable Inshore Fisheries Trust is a Registered Scottish Charity Number SC042334